April 23

Day 353

Went out solo in front of house at 7:15. Waves had cleaned up quite a bit. They were in the waist high range. I caught 3. Much better than last few days. Stayed about 30 min. Current still pushing too hard to stay on one spot.

Wasn’t planning on going back out but I got a phone call from a journalist named Zach Hunt from WECT/WSFX news and he wanted to do an interview about my streak. He came down to my house and we went out on the beach and did an interview. He’s a surfer himself and after the interview he filmed me paddling out and catching a few waves. I was a little nervous so I called Kerri to come surf with me. As I typically do whenever someone is watching, I kooked up my first wave and wiped out with a news camera on me. I hope THAT doesn’t make the news…although it would be funny if it did I guess. We stayed about 45 minutes and I caught around 8 waves.

20130423-213240.jpg

20130423-213256.jpg
Waves early at KB

20130423-213335.jpg
I’ve got some friends that have THIS view from their front porch. They saw someone surfing early and figured it was me and took a pic. The current pushed me pretty far down the shore out of their sight.

20130423-213807.jpg

20130423-213851.jpg
Zach interviewing me. It aired on the news at 11.

20130423-214048.jpg

One thought on “April 23

Leave a Reply

