February 10

Day 281

Almost couldn’t make it out today. Yesterday I hyperextended my knee and twisted my ankle on the first wave I caught. I kept surfing but when I got home my ankle started swelling. I thought nothing of it until I woke up this morning and my knee was aching and ankle was in bad shape. I could not put any pressure on my left leg. I thought about letting my wife pick up the last 84 days for me. But after a while I decided to give it a shot. After having a hard time putting my wet suit and left boot on I hopped across the street on one leg and paddled out. I caught one fun little knee high swell and rode it in. Woulda stayed longer but my leg was useless. Another day when I would have never gone out normally.

20130210-164449.jpg
Limping to ocean.

20130210-164523.jpg
Slowwwly popping up

20130210-164557.jpg
One legged ride

20130210-164618.jpg
Limping out of ocean.

20130210-164651.jpg
Not too hurt to “out handstand” my daughter.

Leave a Reply

